Mrs. Winsett's Blog

Welcome Letter

Posted on: July 29, 2014

Dear Parents/Guardians,

I hope this letter finds you well and that you have had an enjoyable summer with your family and friends. As I look forward to the beginning of the school year at Russell, I wanted to take a minute and introduce myself to you. I have spent all of my professional career teaching the intermediate grades. This is now my 3rd year teaching 4th grade. It is a wonderful year in a child’s school life where students are challenged to become the very best readers and writers they can be! Fourth graders come to the classroom with much expertise and creativity and I welcome the opportunity to help them reach their full potential in the coming year.

We will cover many exciting and challenging things in the fourth grade. In Reader’s and Writer’s Workshop, your children will read many great books and write in a variety of different genres including narratives, essays, and poetry. In Science, our units are “hands on” and cover various topics including ecosystems, motion and design, the solar system, and light and sound. We will also be integrating STEM across the curriculum. We will explore a variety of concepts and learn problem solving strategies in our math program. Social Studies will cover the regions of the United States. There is so much to learn in the fourth grade!

As we begin this exciting year together, I want you to know how much I value open communication with you and your child. It is critical to your child’s success that we work together to make his/her learning the very best it can be. You are welcome to contact me at any time via email (ashley.winsett@cobbk12.org) to share any thoughts or concerns you may have and I will get back to you as soon as possible. I am looking forward to a great year! I look forward to seeing you at Sneak-A-Peek on August 1st from 8:30a.m. to 10:30 a.m. If you are unable to attend then I’ll see you at Open House from 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.

Enjoy the remainder of the summer!

Sincerely,

Mrs. Ashley Winsett

Recent Posts

Mrs. Winsett’s Pages

